

### **DECISION**

### No.690, date 22. 11. 2017

# ON ESTABLISHMENT AND FUNCTIONING OF THE STATE COMMITTEE ON DIASPORA

Pursuant to articles 95, paragraph 2 and 100 of the Constitution, upon the proposal of the Minister of State for Diaspora, the Council of Ministers

#### **DECIDED**:

- 1. Establishment of the State Committee for Diaspora, hereafter the Committee as a Consultative Body of the Council of Ministers for co-ordinating the policies and activities of the state in the diaspora field.
- 2. The Committee is chaired by the Prime Minister and comprises of these members:
  - a) Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs;
  - b) Minister of Interior:
  - c) Minister of Finance and Economy;
  - d) Minister of Justice;
  - e) Minister of Education, Sports and Youth;
  - f) Minister of Culture;
  - g) Ministry of Environment and Tourism;
  - h) State Minister for Diaspora;
  - i) Governor of the Bank of Albania;
  - j) Chair of the Academy of Sciences;
  - k) The Director of INSTAT.
- 3. The scope of activity of the Committee includes:
  - a) Preparation of guidelines for drafting new active policies and setting of strategic priorities in the diaspora field;
  - b) Proposing legal and institutional mechanisms for issues related to improving the position of Diaspora members and protecting their rights and interests in their countries of residence:
  - c) Encouraging and developing a dialogue on the implementation of the strategy, policies and legislation in the field of development of Diaspora communities;
  - d) Coordination and implementation of the National Diaspora Strategy;



- e) Supporting and monitoring the activities of the National Agency for Diaspora.
- 4. The Committee shall meet not less than once every three months and whenever necessary at the request of the Prime Minister.
- 5. Representatives of parliamentary groups, central and local government bodies or other institutions may be invited to attend meetings of the Committee, whose participation is deemed valuable for the accomplishment of the mission.
- 6. The activity of the Committee shall be supported by the Technical Secretariat. The composition and duties of the technical secretariat are determined by order of the Prime Minister.
- 7. Prime Minister Order No.115, dated 11 May 2006, "On the establishment and functioning of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Migration", is abrogated.
- 8. Members of the Committee are responsible for the implementation of this decision.

This decision comes into force immediately and is published in the "Official Gazette".

## PRIME MINISTER EDI RAMA

STATE MINISTER FOR DIASPORA

PANDELI MAJKO